About the NTU

Nanjing Tech University, a comprehensive university with engineering as its focus, is one of several universities situated in the city of Nanjing in Jiangsu Province, China. It has served as a cradle of education for more than 100 years. It is one of the first institutions of higher learning approved by the Chinese Ministry of Education for the training of ‘Excellent Engineers’.

It has two campuses, one in Mofan Road and the other one in Jiangpu, covering a total area of 267 hectares. The University has 26 colleges and close to 30 000 students, including overseas students, undergraduate students, and Master’s degree and PhD candidates.

It encompasses eight branches of learning, namely engineering, science, management, economics, liberal arts, law, philosophy, and medicine. It has six post-PhD stations, 35 PhD programmes, 107 Master’s degree programs, 19 Master of Engineering programmes, and 80 undergraduate programmes.

It has 2 800 faculty and other employees, including more than 900 full-professors and associate professors. These include one member of the Chinese Academy of Science; three members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering; two outstanding professional technical talents; two members of the Chang Jiang Scholars Programme of the Ministry of Education; seven scientists-in-chief for the National Key Development Programme in Fundamental Research; seven chair professors participating in the Thousand Talents Plan; one member of the expert committee for the 863 Programme; seven winners of the National Outstanding Youth Fund; and four national distinguished teachers.

A scientific workshop in progress at the NTU.

In recent years, the University has undertaken 5 000 scientific research projects, including projects under the 973 Programme, the 863 Programme, and the State Natural Science Foundation. It has won more than 100 awards at the national, ministerial and provincial levels, including three Second National Awards for Scientific Progress and Technological Innovation, and three Second National Awards for Technical Innovation.

Its motto is ‘Honour Moral Integrity, Strive for Excellence, Persist in Fortitude and Combine Learning & Practice’. It strives to meet the economic and social needs of the country, and seeks to become a first-rate innovative and high-calibre university of technology with a strong emphasis on engineering. It also seeks to enhance the co-ordinated development of different disciplines, and rank among the top in its category.